Getting Started on Eat to Live

Standard

I’ve had a number of people ask me for the details of Eat to Live, so this post is an attempt to consolidate the info I have.  I am by no means a medical doctor or a nutritionist, so certainly read up and determine what is right for your body by consulting with your own professionals.  I will say that it has worked well for me and for a couple of people I know who follow it.  

Eat to Live is the nutrition brain-child of Dr. Joel Fuhrman.  It is an eating plan–or perhaps an even better way to think about it, is that it is an intentional way of thinking about food and how it helps or hinders our health.  At it’s most basic, it can be boiled down to a whole foods, no processed foods, no animal products, low fat and no-added sugar diet.  That sounds intimidating, but it is totally do-able.  If you’ve made any of the recipes on my blog, you can follow this.  Whether or not you call yourself a vegan is a whole ‘nuther thing. (FYI I don’t refer to myself that way b/c I think it has bigger socio-political meanings… and I occasionally make an intentional choice to eat something with an animal product in it… however my kids love to call me vegan and at times use it in a derogatory fashion.  Like when my 5 year old called me “you big vegan.”  Really?  Oh, digression noted, returning to the featured presentation)

Fuhrman’s philosophy is outlined in the book Eat to Live.  Grab a copy or get it from the library.  There’s nothing to buy–no shakes, meal plans, supplements, or packets of powder.  In fact you can probably cobble together enough info about Eat to Live off of the interwebs so that you don’t need to get the book.  However, the book explains the whole program and the very compelling research behind it so I wouldn’t skip it.  

Rather than re-hash all the info that is already out here, I’m just going to point you towards some of the blogs and websites that I’ve found the most helpful.  

Dr. Fuhrman’s website: http://www.drfuhrman.com

this link is basically a summary of the 6 week plan, and the fat free vegan blog has lots of recipes too that work with Eat to Live
 
this blog is also basically eat to live, and I’ve enjoyed several of her recipes
 
another great blog and series of cookbooks, plus lots of support and inspiration 
 
And of course, there’s, well, this here little blog… mine.  My recipes all fit with Eat to Live.  
 
As far as how it works, I just wrote and deleted a lengthy paragraph detailing how great it has been for me. I censored myself and decided it was TMI for the intertubes. I’ll just say I’m happy, it works, I feel healthy, and I’ve got the lab reports to prove that it changed my health. Give it a try! If you’re interested or at all curious, I would urge you to try the program for six weeks–follow it as strictly as you can–and then make up your mind. I think you’ll be sold!

4 responses »

  1. Hi Kim!
    I might give this a 6 week try… Are there good substitutes for nuts in your recipes? We have a severe nut allergy in our household 😦

  2. Hi–I don’t think tons of the recipes I have posted have nuts in them… but in any event, here’s what I would do. Whenever you see non-dairy milk and a recipe lists almond milk, I would try any non-dairy milk you like (rice, flax, hemp, soy). That shouldn’t make an appreciable difference. For recipes that use nuts as an “accent” like in baked goods, just leave them out or substitute raisins or chocolate chips. When nuts are used as a protein (like on top of salads, in curry, etc) substitute tofu. When nut-butters are used for their “stickiness” like in baked goods, you can try sunflower seed butter if that is not an allergen, or you could try pureed dried fruit (like prunes or raisins)–I’ve never tried that personally but it ought to lend that stickiness and hold things together. Let me know if I’m missing something or if there is a specific recipe you are interested in substituting.

  3. Thanks. You’re right, you posted lots of recipes without nuts, too. The very first one I clicked on, though, was a link for Vegan Pizza, with parmesan cheese made from cashews 😦

  4. To get a cheesy taste without nuts, use just nutritional yeast, and maybe a little salt. I have some recipes for creamy, cheesy sauces that don’t use nuts but instead use vegan margarine, nutritional yeast, and pureed cauliflower (look for the cauliflower alfredo recipe). I don’t think that would work on pizza though. Try it just sprinkled with the nutritional yeast.

Leave a Reply

