Everyone Knows, The Most Delicious Part of the Muffin is the Top

Standard

I bet that caught your attention.  And it is.  We can thank Elaine’s muffin-top addiction on Seinfeld for making the muffin-top a little bit of popular culture, paid homage by Jenna of 30 Rock in this slightly scandalous muffin top song.  I think she’s just talking about muffins.  Right? Right?

(I apologize, I couldn’t find a link that went directly into the song, so you get a little extra Jenna love.)

There is a link here… I made these delicious pumpkin pancakes, but they didn’t spread out much like pancakes are supposed to.  They reminded me more of muffin tops.  And it’s all good, folks. 

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

(if you look closely, these will resemble my whole grain vegan blueberry pancakes.  But pay attention cause I did switch things up a bit.  Don’t get carried away singing along to muffin top and throw the wrong ingredients in the bowl!)

Makes about a dozen pancakes

1/2 C pumpkin puree (I used canned, but knock yourself out and make it from scratch if that’s your thing)

2 T baking powder (hmmm, me thinks this is where my muffin tops came from… try scaling it back a bit for flatter pancakes)

1/2 t salt

1 t vanilla

1 t pumpkin pie spice

1 C whole wheat pastry flour

1 C oatmeal (uncooked oats)

1&1/2 C almond milk or milk of choice

3/4 t stevia (I used sweetleaf brand) or equivalent sweetener of your choice

Mix it all together.  Get your griddle nice and hot.  See my blueberry pancake recipe for pancake tips, here: https://inspiredbykim.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/vegan-whole-grain-blueberry-pancakes/ 

Drop by about 1/4 C portions on your griddle and cook ’em up.  Serve.  Well that was easy.

Muffin top pumpkin pancakes.  Suggestive song lyrics optional.

Leave a Reply

