Butternut Squash, Apple, and Leek Soup: It’s like a hot bowl of fall, in under 30 minutes

Standard

photo credit: Boaz Yiftach, freedigitalphotos.net

photo credit: Boaz Yiftach, freedigitalphotos.net


Yes, you heard me right… homemade from scratch soup in under 30 minutes. Of course, that’s if you use a pressure cooker. But even without a pressure cooker I bet you could have this done in about an hour or so, and it is well worth the effort. Rich and creamy… a hint of sweet from the apples… the flavors of Thanksgiving from sage, rosemary, and ginger… and the leeks give the hint of onion without overpowering the soup. My favorite Thanksgiving stuffing (which will be vegan-ized this year) combines apples and leeks for divine results, so I figured it would work well in my soup. The hubs and I loved this. My oldest, who usually eschews anything plant-based, actually ate a whole bowl of it. My other two tasted it, one liked it but wouldn’t eat any, the other didn’t like it (and he is the one I can usually count on to eat veggies… go figure). So, your mileage may vary, but give this hearty soup a try.

A note on vegetable broth… by all means make your own. I was saving time and used canned, and I was quite disappointed to see how much sodium it contained. Live and learn. I usually make my own and freeze it in quart containers but right now I’m fresh out. See my post here: https://inspiredbykim.wordpress.com/?s=stock for instructions. My next experiment will be to make it in the pressure cooker, but my PC won’t hold 4 quarts worth so I think the extra time to make it in a regular pot might be worth it for me. Especially now that we have these long, dark, cold nights… what better to do than babysit a stock pot? 😉

Butternut Squash, Apple, and Leek Soup
1 T (or less) olive oil
1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into roughly even sized cubes about 1″
3 leeks
2 granny smith apples, peeled, cored, cut about the same size as your squash
2 cans of vegetable stock or, preferably, 3-4 cups of homemade vegetable stock
about a 1/2″ wide slice of ginger, or roughly 3/4 t minced ginger (don’t go overboard… too much would make it taste soapy… better to be subtle)
about 1 T each chopped fresh sage and rosemary (you could probably substitute about 1 t each dried if you don’t have fresh)

Directions: Put a small amount of olive oil in the bottom of your pressure cooker and let that heat over medium to medium-high heat. As you chop the squash, add that to the pot and stir occasionally so that it will start to brown up a bit. Continue chopping your apples and leeks, adding to the pot as you go. When you are done chopping all the veggies, the squash should have a bit of browning and things should be softening up. Add the stock and seasonings (no need to chop the ginger, just throw the chunk in, it will get smashed up later). Close and lock the pressure cooker, increase temp to high and bring it to high pressure. Reduce the heat and cook on high pressure for 15 minutes. Quick release the pressure. When it is safe to do so, open up your cooker. It will look like an unappealing pile of mush. Don’t fret. Take your immersion blender and pulverize it–everything should be very soft and break down easily into an even, creamy, caramel colored soup. Serve as is or top it with some pumpkin seeds, or swirl in some coconut cream, or sprinkle with more fresh herbs. Enjoy!

So my big question… which is more “fall”–butternut squash soup, or chili?

2 responses »

  1. Sounds yummy and easy. Thanks!
    My fav right now is roasted butternut squash —- straight —– no seasoning, just warm from the pan.

Leave a Reply

