Jump in! The water’s great!

Standard

I’m not exactly sure why I picked that title… maybe to convey that the summer is flying so jump in and have fun before it passes you by.  I’ve noticed I have not been blogging much.  One big drawback to blogging for me is what a pain in the @$$ it is to post photos on here… I have to email them from my phone to my computer (cause that darn wonderful cloud has a limited memory it seems), then download them to my computer, then upload them to wordpress….  On days when I don’t have much energy to write, the photo thing is enough to stop me.  So today, no photos.  But some good tips!

Tip 1: if you haven’t made cauliflower alfredo sauce for your non-plant-loving-peeps… RUN to buy the ingredients.  Make it.  Keep your vegaphobes out of the kitchen and blend the bejezzus out of it so there are no identifiable cauliflower chunks.  I referenced the recipe earlier in my blog, with a link to Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe.  I’ve made this twice now and it was a hit with all 3 of my boys.  It don’t get any better than that, folks.  I even heated up the leftovers and threw in some thawed frozen peas, and it was eaten with glee.  Glee I tell you!

Tip 2:  water.  It is hot out.  Unless you live in Alaska, in which case it is probably temperate.  But for the rest of us in the continental 48, it is hot (and I’m guessing Hawaii is also pretty warm).  I find on the days I don’t drink enough water, I tend to over eat.  Sometimes we’re really thirsty but we go for food instead.  To make water more appealing, try throwing in some fruit, fresh mint, or cucumbers.  Put it in a glass pitcher and let it chill out in the fridge.  It will look pretty (making it appealing), tastes more interesting than plain water, and it is ready to go and chilled so you don’t have to work too hard when you get thirsty.  I’ve got a 1/2 gallon pitcher with about 5 sprigs of mint, about 5 cucumber slices, and a sliced up lime inside, filled to the brim with water, chilling out waiting for me now.

Tip 3: Thug Kitchen.  Not for the faint of heart or vernacularly offended.  But if you want to laugh your @$$ off (wow that’s twice now) go and read the blog and enjoy the recipes.  Who knew vegan could be so bad@$$ (three!  It’s on, baby!).

Tip 4: my skinny cookie recipe can be melded in any way your heart desires.  I made it last week with dried cherries, chocolate chips, and walnuts thrown in.  I made it today with no applesauce but 4 bananas instead (bought too many over ripe bananas and got sick of putting them in the freezer).  I threw in about 1/4 cup of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of vanilla,  about 1/2 cup of flaked unsweetened coconut, and 1/4 cup of peanut butter.  I needed about 2.5 cups of oats to make it the right consistency, baked at 350 for 30 minutes.  Yum!  Just however you customize the recipe, try to get the right consistency and watch the baking time… you want them dry enough that they hold together but not so dry that they are, well, dry.  Duh.

Tip 5: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you… but don’t do for others what they can do for themselves.  I’m talking you, kiddos.  Momma has laid down the law around here and asked, nay, demanded!, kids to step up to the plate.  There has been complaining.  There has been moaning.  There has been complaints of child abuse (seriously?  Go live in some third world country for 2 hours and then tell me about child abuse.  And while you’re at it, find out what “I’m starving” really  means).  I’m sure I could handle my kids better and I often fail to “be the kind of boss you would listen to” as the parenting manuals advise.  But I have successfully gotten my own to do their own laundry, clean up their rooms and change their sheets, clean out their pets’ cage, make their camp/school lunches, and even my 4 year old has his little job of unloading the silverware from the dishwasher.  Aside from the cleaning of the rooms, these are basically all things I did for them up until about a month ago. Maybe that makes me a sucker, but for right now I am enjoying being liberated from momma-slavedom. 

Tip 6: Om.  This is one of those “do as I say and not as I do” tips.  I have wanted to make a formal meditation practice part of my routine for quite awhile now and just haven’t made it happen.  The Chopra center has a 21 day meditation challenge beginning Aug 5.  Go check it out: https://chopracentermeditation.com/home  It’s free to register and if you can’t get to a meditation the day it comes out, it remains available for like a week or so.  I’m going to try really hard… or as Yoda says, “there is no try, there is do or do not” (you have to read that in a Yoda voice for it to be effective).  So I shall do, yes I shall!  You can do it too!

Tip 7: back to the food… the frozen banana ice un-cream is also a very flexible recipe.  I bought a ton of bananas (as previously referenced) in the produce clearance section–I think I got something like 22 bananas at half price.  Score!  I sliced most of them up and froze them in a big zip top bag so I can make the banana delicious frozen-ness whenever.  The basic recipe is two sliced frozen bananas and about 1/4 cup of nondairy milk, spun into yumminess in the food processor.  I’ve been throwing in less banana and just adjusting the amount of liquid, because I always eat the entire thing, so by making less there is less landing on my @$$ (4!  you thought I forgot!).  I’ve added in pecans and oatmeal (uncooked) to make kind of a banana-bread type thing.  I’ve added in a whole peach to make a peachy-banana-sorbet kind of thing.  I’ve added in coconut, coconut milk, and pineapple to make a piña colada kind of thing.  It’s all good.  If you have strong will power, make a bunch and pop it in the freezer.  Or if you’re like me, make what you will eat or are willing to share, and enjoy it soft-serve style. 

Tip 8: get of your @$$ (5!) and get moving.  Don’t let summer pass you by.  Be outside, even if it is just on your patio or balcony.  Watch the sunset.  Take a picnic to the park.  Go for a walk, hike, or run.  Move your body and enjoy the summer.  Cause before we know it, we’ll all be whining that “it’s too cold out.  I would go exercise if it weren’t so dern cold.”  I’m looking at you, Minnesota.  You know what I’m talkin’ ’bout.  Just sayin’. 

TTFN and feel free to add your favorite tips below.  Have a great rest of the summer!

Leave a Reply

