Dark Chocolate Coconut (skinny!) Cookies

Standard

Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t.

Do you love mounds bars as much as I do? I haven’t had once since raiding the kids’ halloween candy bags last October (it is a right that we earn by being mom’s… they have to tithe some of their halloween candy in exchange for our many sacrifices… but I digress…). I’m sure they are full of all kinds of icky fat and sugar that none of us need. But they do taste good.

I was shopping and became transfixed by the chocolate chip section of the baking aisle. There are vegan chips. They are generally expensive but guaranteed free of milk products. Semi-sweet chips generally do not have milk in them and I have read that certain brands are naturally vegan, but most of the bags I picked up had allergy warnings about milk. Investigating the ingredient list, many had butter fat in them. I was getting ready to lay out some serious cashola when I came upon dark chocolate chips. These were my local grocery stores higher-end store brand, and labelled 62% cacao. They are also not the traditional chip shape but chunks–probably 1/3 inch square flat chunks of chocolate. And they cost $3 a bag. Score! They made it into my cart and I needed to find a great way to use them.

I doctored up my skinny oatmeal raisin cookie recipe and came up with a dark chocolate coconut cookie recipe, inspired by the mounds candy bar. They are divine.

GetAttachment.aspx

Mix together:
2 C. rolled oats
1/4 C unsweetened (natural) applesauce
3 bananas, very ripe, mashed
1 t vanilla extract
1/4 C peanut butter
1/3 to 1/2 C unsweetened coconut (I used the wide shredded flakes)
1/2 to 1/2 C dark chocolate chunks

Measurement disclosure: I used a 1/3 C measure for my coconut and chocolate, but heaped it up b/c those two ingredients looked really good and I was hungry while baking (a deadly combination). Use your discretion.

I used a cookie scoop (approx. 2 tablespoon size) to drop the batter on my cookie sheet. I then flattened each ball slightly with the back of the scoop. Since these don’t have butter in them, they won’t “spread” while baking like many cookies will. I was able to make 20 cookies with this mixture. I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes. I find with these no oil recipes, the moisture content can vary depending on your fruit, so watch them carefully as they set up. You may need more or less time. Let cool and enjoy!

And stop eating after two or three. They are yummy and pretty healthy but still nuts and chocolate have fat and sugar in them, respectively. Just b/c they are skinny and healthy doesn’t mean it’s a good idea to eat the entire batch. If this is hard to resist, try bagging them up in little zipper top bags and freezing them. Or put them on a high shelf. Or portion them out in labeled baggies for the week. Or let your kids and spouse go to town on them (I don’t recommend this). In any event, enjoy them and even if you do overeat, they are better for you than a regular butter, egg, and added sugar cookie any day of the week!

Leave a Reply

