Green Elephant Smoothie!

Standard

images

How’s that for a plant based elephant? Don’t worry, no elephants were harmed in the making of this smoothie.

My typical smoothie is almond milk, kale, a banana, chia seeds, and some other assortment of fruits and berries depending on what we have. I wanted to try a smoothie that would be a little bit different and be super filling. It had gotten later than usual in the morning, I didn’t have breakfast, and it was too early for lunch. I had a work commitment at 1pm and knew that I wouldn’t have a proper lunch until much later, if at all (I’m not advocating skipping meals… but sometimes life gets busy…). So I overhauled my smoothie to give it a little more staying power. Elephants love peanuts, right?

Green Elephant Smoothie
1 C almond milk or nondairy milk of choice
about 2-3 C kale, roughly chopped
1 banana
1.5 T all natural peanut butter
1 T cocoa powder
1 T chia seeds
1/4 C oatmeal (rolled oats or “old fashioned” oats, uncooked)

The peanut butter definitely makes this a higher calorie smoothie, but it filled me up and tasted good, with enough “staying power” to hold me through until I got home in the mid afternoon. I think it would be a great pre-exercise breakfast, too! Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. I may need to try the peanut butter ingredient, especially when I bring a smoothie to work, for post-workout breakfast. Since I usually make the smoothie the night before, how well do you think it’ll keep overnight (more in terms of consistency)?

    • I think it would blend ok… you will probably need to shake it some but you probably do regardless. Try it and let me know how it works.

Leave a Reply

