As Promised… Carrot Cake Cookies

Standard

I promised to share the recipe, and here it is.  These cookies are divine.  I have made them several times now and they have always come out just right.  The taste of carrot cake, in a cookie form, full of good stuff like carrots, raisins, walnuts, and oats.  And none of the bad stuff–no oil, eggs, butter–the only fat I can find in them is from the walnuts, which of course is good fat.  There are a lot of ingredients but don’t let that part intimidate you.  If you gather up all your spices and dry goods ahead of time the batter will come together quickly. This recipe was inspired by the Carrot Cake Bars recipe at Fat Free Vegan. My spice profile is virtually identical, I just changed it up a bit to make a dryer cookie and not a moist bar. You can find her recipe here: http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2012/07/carrot-cake-bars.html

carrot cake cookies

Carrot Cake Cookies
2 C shredded carrots (my tip… use the smaller grating side of a box grater to make finely grated carrots)
1/2 C raisins
1/4 C chopped walnuts
3/4 C whole wheat pastry flour (also called “white whole wheat”–I found this at the regular grocery store, King Arthur brand)
2 t baking powder
1 C whole oats
3/4 C unsweetened applesauce
1&1/4 t cinnamon
1/2 t nutmeg
1 t ginger (powdered, I didn’t use fresh though I’m sure you could…)
1/4 t allspice
1/8 t cloves
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 C sugar equivalent (I used stevia in the raw, 1/2 C)

Heat oven to 375F. Combine all ingredients. This won’t be a real doughy cookie dough, but blend it together the best you can. Scoop onto baking sheets–I used a cookie scoop and got about 18 cookies. If you scoop them, you will have little balls of dough. Flatten them slightly with your hand or the back of a spoon to make them more of a cookie shape. They won’t really spread out on their own, so what they look like going into the oven is more or less what they look like coming out. Bake 20 minutes at 375–though keep an eye on them and check at 15-18 or so minutes. These don’t really “brown” like a cookie with butter so you just have to check that they are cooked through, hold together, a bit puffed, and dry on the bottom.

Carrot cake cookies.

Total awesomeness.

You’re welcome.

7 responses »

    • Well…not sure. What is the GF flour made out of? I think rice flour can get gluey, I would avoid that. I would substitute a finely ground oat flour…or put some dry oats in your food pro and grind the bejesus out of the to make flour. I think that would work.

      • oops. sorry Robin thanks for catching that! 20 minutes, though check at 15-18 as it may depend on how much moisture is in your veggies. And I cook on stoneware which tends to cook a little slower.

  1. You need to add either xanthum gum or guar gum to GF Flour in order to have it ‘act’ the same way as wheat flour. I don’t remember what the ratio is…maybe 1 tsp per cup? I’m sure it’s out there on google. If you are not highly sensitive to gluten, spelt flour will work also.

Leave a Reply

