Tropical Guacamole!

Standard

This was one of those accidentally wonderful creations. We were getting ready to go out of town and I needed to use up a bunch of things–an avocado, a tomato, cilantro, pita bread, black beans. And I was hungry. Like really hungry. Like I just spent 3 hours running errands with a preschooler hungry.

I usually enjoy guacamole with crunch chips. It is divine. Guac is one of the recipes I’ve enjoyed making when we have company over, as everyone seems to love it and you kind of forget it’s healthy. Of course avocados are high in fat but it sure beats fat from butter or straight-out oil.

tropical guacamole www.inspiredbykim.wordpress.com

I pulled together what I had and improvised this tropical guacamole. The beans give it a little more staying power. Works great with chips (that’s how I ate the leftovers) or on a pita. I popped mine into a whole wheat pita lined with romaine, cucumber slices, and mushrooms… again, I was trying to clear out all the produce I could from the fridge. But I think this would also be great rolled into a tortilla, on top of brown rice on a lettuce wrap, or by itself on top of greens for a salad. Enjoy!

Tropical Guacamole
Stir together:
one avocado, chopped
1/8 of a fresh pinapple, diced
2 T finely chopped red onion
1/2 of a jalapeño, minced (more or less to taste)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 roma tomato, chopped and seeded
1/2 cup black beans
juice of one lime
1/2 t ground cumin
salt and pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

