General Tso’s Sesame Broccoli with Tofu

Standard

Tofu. Should be simple enough. I have yet to master tofu. This recipe is downright yummy. Right down to the tofu. I had high hopes that the light searing in a tiny smidge of oil would make it yummier. The truth is, maybe I just don’t like tofu. ‘Cause I’m cooking it the same way others seem to cook it. Is this an acquired taste? Do I have texture issues? I’m not certain. If you love tofu, I assure you, you will love this recipe. If you don’t like tofu, just leave it out. The sauce and the veggies are delicious on their own.

I started with this recipe from Vegan Richa as a base to work from:

http://www.veganricha.com/2012/01/general-tsos-tempeh-vegan-glutenfree.html

I changed it up a bit. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:
3 crowns of broccoli
1 red pepper
1 t sesame seeds
1 12 oz block of firm tofu, cut into 1/2 inch by 2 inch strips

sauce:
2 Tablespoon soy sauce
4 teaspoons orange juice
1/2 teaspoon Sriracha (this could be increased if you like more heat)
2 teaspoon white wine or rice vinegar
2 Tablespoons vegan hoisin sauce
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
2 Tablespoon cornstarch mixed in 1 cup of water

Directions: Heat a dry wok over medium heat. Cut the broccoli into florets and the pepper into 1/2 inch by 2 inch or so strips. Stir fry the veggies until crisp-tender. Remove from wok. Give the wok a tiny spritz of canola oil from a pump. Cook the tofu, turning frequently, until lightly golden. Add the sesames to the tofu and toast. Mix all the sauce ingredients together, being careful to dissolve the cornstarch thoroughly in the water before adding it to the sauce. Add sauce to the hot wok. It will thicken quickly so stir it and remove from heat when it is the desired consistency. Add the veggies back to the wok and toss to coat and heat through. Serve with brown rice.

I made my kids some chicken as I knew they would not eat the tofu. Two of them just had the chicken. Plain. No veggies. Sigh. One brave child ate some broccoli and red pepper with his chicken. Score!

If you love tofu and know just how to cook it, please tell me! I’d love to love it but I’m just not feeling it, dog.

2 responses »

  1. I agree about tofu. It may be an acquired taste, but I also think promises regarding tofu have been made that it just can’t deliver on – that it substitutes just fine for various meat ingredients, when it doesn’t. I’ve yet to eat tofu in anything where it was used as a substitute for chicken, pork, etc., and 1) not immediately noticed I was eating tofu, and 2) didn’t experience disappointment. Tofu may be adequate, but it doesn’t “taste like chicken!”

  2. Hey Kim,

    This sounds like a good recipe to try. My family does love tofu, so we’re always looking for more ways to eat it. One tip I can share is that it helps a lot to make sure you press the water out before cooking it. You can put the block of tofu between a couple of cutting boards with a book on top while you chop your veggies. Then it gets nice and crispy on the outside, but not too mushy on the inside.

Leave a Reply

