Soupe de la Semaine: Salsa Black Bean Soup

Standard

I got the idea for this delicious soup from my friend Judy. You can find her post here:

https://reluctantlyreforming.wordpress.com/type/aside/

I think I did the same thing, but when I was cooking the soup I forgot I had read her recipe and thought I was making it up. I wasn’t. But my crazy forgetful mind must have been on a recipe plagiarizing tangent. It’s essentially the same recipe, but here’s what I did:

black bean

1 can or 1 1/2 cups cooked black beans
2 C. vegetable broth
2/3 C. salsa (I used a medium-heat fresh salsa)
1 t each coriander and cumin
Garnish: 1/4 of an avocado per serving, chopped, and additional salsa
1 whole grain tortilla, baked at 450 about 10 minutes.

Heat the beans, broth, salsa, and seasonings until thoroughly heated. Pulverize with your immersion blender. Or let the soup cool down and blend it in a regular blender. But don’t blend hot soup! I think I’ve already told you that is never a good idea. Spoon into bowls and garnish with avocado and salsa. Cut the tortilla into wedges and dunk ’em in the soup as you slurp it up! Too hot? Use mild salsa, or decrease the amount. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

