Sriracha Broccoli

Standard

If you read my post on Sriracha Green Beans with Mushrooms, you know all about this sweet and spicy condiment. Here it is, paired with broccoli, almonds, and scallions. Mmmm. I ate this as is, but you could add some brown rice or quinoa to make it more of a meal. I started with this recipe:
http://rosemarried.com/2012/02/02/roasted-broccoli-with-sriacha-honey-and-soy-sauce/

But I changed it up a bit. I decreased the oil and honey to keep this closer to an Eat to Live-worthy recipe. I increased the broccoli appreciably, but kept the same amount of nuts and I think the proportions were fine. Here’s my version:

Sriracha Broccoli
3 small crowns broccoli (or 2 large)
6 scallions, sliced (white and light green parts only)
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
4 T soy sauce (low sodium)
2 t sriracha sauce
1 t sesame oil
1 t honey

Heat oven to 425. Cut broccoli into florets. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix the soy, sriracha, oil, and honey in a bowl. Add broccoli and toss to coat. Place broccoli on baking sheet and drizzle with remaining sauce. Roast 15-20 minutes until crisp but cooked. You may cook longer or shorter based on your own preference for broccoli-“doneness”. Remove from oven and toss with scallion and toasted almonds. To toast almonds, microwave in 30 second intervals until toasted or toast over medium heat in a small frying pan (no oil needed). Watch them because they quickly go from raw to burnt.

Here’s mine. I gobbled it up. I didn’t share. But it was me and the kids, and while I offered, they all politely said “no thank you.” Such polite carnivores I’m raising.

broc

Leave a Reply

