You Put the Lime in the Coconut

Standard

You know you are singing along. If you don’t know that song, check this out:

If that doesn’t rock out your Saturday night, I don’t know what you are waiting for.

Maybe this. A little treat with no guilt attached.

I had a heck of a day–just busy busy busy and compounded by self-induced stress and worry. I managed to contain it by reminding myself that I can handle each item on the days list one at a time as long as I stay focused on the moment. That philosophy of mindfulness really helped me. It turned out not to be a bad day at all, though still a busy one. Once the smalls were off to bed, I turned to the blender and churned out this healthy treat just for me. I had been craving sweet and tangy and putting the lime in the coconut worked wonders.

Strawberry Lime Colada Smoothie
1/2 C coconut-almond milk, unsweetened
1/8 of a fresh pineapple
1/2 of a lime, juiced
2 very large strawberries, frozen (or maybe 4 smallish ones)
a handful of ice cubes

Throw it all in the blender and blend away. The hardest part of this recipe is finding a straw wide enough to suck it up without bits of ice clogging it. Oh the humanity!

Here’s mine. Forgive the lousy picture of the wine glass. Damn it Jim, I’m a home chef, not a food stylist!

Leave a Reply

