Seeing the World through Newborn Eyes

Standard

I’m unplugged. This post is brought to you through the miracle of post-dated publication.

Mind blowing I’m sure.

You, it seems, are not unplugged. Unless you are reading this later because your soul joy in life is to catch up on my blog. I can’t say I blame you.

If you are not unplugged, here is some inspiration to unplug–for an hour, five hours, or all day. Go out and see the world through a fresh set of eyes. Mindfulness is the practice of bringing focused, non-judgmental attention to the present moment. A simple sentence but a lifetime of practice. It is based out of Eastern philosophies but can be brought to bear on Western folks regardless of your spiritual or philosophical practices. One of the terms oft cited in mindfulness literature is to practice seeing the world through new eyes. Imagining you are a visitor to this planet and taking in what is in front of you without preconceived notions (judgments) and just experiencing what is before you right now, in the moment.

I have lots of preconceived notions about winter. It is cold. We have to bundle up. This takes considerable extra time to track down boots, mittens, and hats for kiddos. Those bulky coats take up 3/4 of my mud room. Ah, then there’s mud and water tracked on the kitchen floor. I have to plan longer drives when the roads are snowy, and having gotten into a few fender benders in my life on icy roads, I have some learned anxiety related to driving on snow and ice.

Spot any preconceived notions and judgments above? They may be true, but they are not particularly helpful to me RIGHT NOW.

This is helpful to me right now:

icicles

The way the light glistens off of these icicles, “growing” as it were from a rain gutter. A simple moment I may have passed over in my hurry to get inside, but today my oldest and I stopped to marvel at them. A few seconds of pause, and a moment of wonderment to share together. May have been one of the brightest spots of my morning.

What can you slow down and notice for the first time today? Go unplug and do it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

