Black Bean and Sweet Potato… what? salad? wrap? You decide!

Standard

MMMMmmmmm.  This is a recipe I love.  Inspired by one I found on pinterest, made and enjoyed, but when I went back to make it a second time, I couldn’t find it.  I’m sure I pinned it, but flipping through pages and pages of vegan recipes I guess they all start to look the same.  So I remade it from memory.  Inspired from elsewhere, ingredients and amounts subject to the kitchen muses.  Best part is, you can do whatever you like with it.  Here it is on top of a mix of spinach, romaine, and shredded napa cabbage and topped with cashew cheese (more on that later).  Last night I had it in a tortilla with shredded cabbage, salsa and cashew cheese.  It would have been fabulous with guacamole, too, but sadly I have no guacamole.  None.  I know, first world problem.

Black Bean and Sweet Potato Salad

2 smallish or 1 honkin’ big sweet potato, peeled, diced into about 1/2″ cubes

1 can or about 2 cups of black beans

juice of 2 limes (maybe 1/4 cup if you are using bottled?)

1/2 of a red onion, chopped

1/2 of a jalapeño pepper, or more/less to taste, minced

1/2 of a red pepper, diced

1/2 t each cumin, corriander

1/4 C chopped cilantro

kosher salt to taste (unless you’re cutting salt)

Boil the sweet potatoes in water for about 10 minutes or until cooked through but not mushy. Drain well.  Drain and rinse beans and throw them in a bowl with the potatoes.  Meanwhile, saute the onions and peppers over medium heat, stirring frequently, until soft.  If you use a non stick pan, there is no need to add oil, otherwise use a little cooking spray.  Add the sautéed mixture to the beans/potatoes, squeeze in your lime juice and add the seasonings plus a little salt to taste if desired.  It’s ready to go!  Now put it in a whole wheat tortilla, a pita, on top of favorite greens… I bet it would even be good stirred into vegetable broth for a soup though I haven’t tried that yet!  Top it with nondairy or dairy cheese for a little creaminess. If you have it on top of greens, a drizzle of balsamic vinegar is a nice addition. Image

One response »

Leave a Reply

