Version 2.0

Standard

One of the catch phrases that occasionally works to pull my kids back from the edge of madness when they are falling apart is to tell them to start over.  Reset.  Reboot.  Do not pass go, do not collect $200, but also do not go to jail.  Sometimes this works… not as frequently as I would like, but enough that now sometimes they ask to “just start over.”  Drop the problem, take a deep breath, apologize, move on and forget about it–no punishment or lecture from mom necessary.  Do grown ups get to do this?

It really is pretty amazing that every 24 hours we get the chance to just start over, with a fresh day stretching before us, filled with new opportunities.  But do we use that chance?  Do we start each day and say how can I make the world a better place for myself, my family, my friends, for society, for the environment?  I would be a fibber if I said of course, every day, I wake up smiling thinking, “I can’t wait to get started!”  Most days I wake up to either my alarm clock yelling at me , to kids needing something, or to kids already up and arguing.  I open one eye halfway, stare blearily at the clock, and groan that it is morning already.  Time to make the donuts.

However, I’ve honestly had enough.  I need to reset, reboot, restart.  I’ve had my fill of survival living–moving from day to day, week to week, year to year, feeling like the merry go round is spinning way too fast.  I don’t really enjoy the ride, I just want to get off before I puke.  No energy left to reach for the brass ring.  They say the joy is in the jouney, not in the destination.  I’d like a little more of that joy.

Hmmm, mid-life crisis you’re thinking?  Could be.  Too many changes in this past year to not sit up and take notice that life isn’t slowing down anytime soon on it’s own.  I’m not getting any younger, and the people I care about are on this same trajectory.  And most importantly, the imprint of this hurried, busy lifestyle is being placed squarely on the souls of my children, and they deserve far better.  This is a place for me to muse about the journey and share the steps I’m taking to get more enjoyment out of each day and give more enjoyment to those around me.  Taking care of myself and family through cherishing and strengthening relationships, healthy nutrition and exercise, enjoyable activities that challenge me, incorporating more mindful awareness into my life, and taking time to reflect.  It’s Me, Version 2.0.  With no costly software download.  What’s not to like?

2 responses »

  1. Wonderful post! I look forward to reading more. 🙂 Slowing down is so hard to do, yet so important for ourselves and our children.

Leave a Reply

